University of Southern Indiana

Past Berger Lectures


Electoral Justice Meets Democracy

The University of Southern Indiana Social Work Department welcomed Dr. Gena McClendon as she presented the 2020 Sydney Berger Lecture.

McClendon is director of the Voter Access and Engagement and the Financial Capability and Asset Building initiatives at the Center for Social Development at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. Her work primarily involves policy research analysis and consultation with community-based programs, academic institutions, state and federal policymakers and advocacy groups. Read the full press release. 


The Re/Evolution of the Black Arts Movement

The USI Psychology Department welcomes Ron Himes and Heather Beal as they present the 2019 Sydney Berger Lecture.

“The Re/Evolution of the Black Arts Movement” will investigate the continued need for cultural institutions of color. Himes founded his own theatre company in 1976, during the height of the Black Arts Movement. Himes and Beal will ask and address the following question: do we still need a theatre company dedicated to blackness and why? Read the full press release.


The Majority Minority

The University of Southern Indiana Political Science, Public Administration and Philosophy Department welcomes Dr. Marjorie Hershey, professor of political science at Indiana University, as she presents at the 2018 Sydney Berger Lecture, “The Majority Minority”.

Hershey’s talk will explore the underrepresentation of women in American politics and how that underrepresentation affects our lives. She asks, “If we elected more women to Congress, executive leadership, and state legislatures, would we have different types of policies? A different political tone? Less partisanship- or more?” Read the full press release.

2016-2017 Dr. Ron Mallon, professor and chair of philosophy at Washington University in St. Louis
2015-2016 Dr. Allison Guzman, assistant professor of Spanish at Providence College in Rhode Island
2014-2015 Dr. Venicia McGhie, Fulbright scholar and chair of the Academic Development department at University of the Western Cape in South Africa
2013-2014 Mattie Miller, Evansville’s first female African-American teacher at an all-white school
2012-2013 Dr. Steven Salaita, associate professor of English at Virginia Tech
2011-2012 Dr. Carolyn Calloway-Thomas, professor and director of the Preparing Future Faculty Program at Indiana University
2010-2011 Marilyn Ruth Signe Skoglund, Associate Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court
2009-2010 Dr. Cynthia Duarte, Fellow in the Institute of Latino Studies at the University of Notre Dame
2008-2009 Dr. Leslie Ashburn-Nardo, Assistant Professor of Psychology at Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis
2007-2008 Joan Callahan, Professor of Philosophy, and Professor of Gender and Women’s Studies at the University of Kentucky
2006-2007 Dr. Michael Hoeflich, the John H. and John M. Kane Professor of Law at the University of Kansas
2005-2006 Judge Patricia Walker FitzGerald of the Jefferson Circuit Court Family Division in Louisville, Kentucky
2004-2005 Robert Corn-Revere, a partner in the Washington D.C. office of Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
2003-2004 Gene Policinski, deputy directory of the First Amendment Center at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, TN
2002-2003 Charles Nelms, vice president for Student Development and Diversity at Indiana University Bloomington
2001-2002 Dr. Scott Christianson, visiting associate professor of social studies at Bard College and an acclaimed author, activist, journalist, and scholar
2000-2001 Dr. F. Robert Hunter, chair of Indiana State University’s Department of History and president of the Midwest Association of Middle East and Islamic Studies
1999-2000 Leslie Roberts, associate professor of French;
Patricia Aakhus, instructor in English;
Douglas Hubbell, associate professor of communications;
Amanda Grube, USI student;
James VanLear;
Michael Waitman, associate professor of English
1998-1999 Bruce Pearl, men's varsity basketball coach;
John H. Gottcent, professor of English;
Daniel R. Craig, assistant professor of music;
Robert L. York, instructor in English;
Scott N. LaFeber, director of theatre;
Elliot H. Wasserman, associate professor of theatre;
Dr. Betty L. Hart, professor of English;
Eric L. vonFuhrmann, assistant professor of English;
Kathy Dooley, USI student
1997-1998 Patrick A. Shoulders, member of the law firm of Ziemer, Stayman, Weitzel & Shoulders in Evansville
John R. Price, heads John R. Price and Associates in Indianapolis
John Dobken, news anchor at Channel 44 in Evansville

Contact Dr. Del Doughty


Send Email to