University of Southern Indiana

Honorary Degrees 1970-1974


April 24, 1970 - (Dedication of the Indiana State University Evansville Campus)

No Photo Wallace Billingsley Graves
President, University of Evansville
Doctor of Laws 
Harold McCutchan Harold Ogden McCutchan
Evansville Business Executive
Doctor of Laws 
No Photo Frank Freeman McDonald
Mayor, City of Evansville
Doctor of Civil Law 

June 2, 1971 - First Commencement Exercises at Indiana State University Evansville

Peter Muirhead Peter Parker Muirhead (speaker)
Executive Deputy Commissioner of Education Department of Health, Education, and Welfare
Doctor of Laws 
Joseph O'Daniel Joseph Edward O'Daniel
Evansville Business Executive
Doctor of Laws 
Jane Owen Jane Blaffer Owen
New Harmony, Indiana, Philanthropist and Patron of the Humanities
Doctor of Humane Letters 

June 1, 1972 - Commencement

No Photo Roger Douglas Branigin Sr.
Former Governor of the State of Indiana
Doctor of Civil Law 
No Photo Reverend Henry Joseph Grimmelsman
Bishop of the Diocese of Evansville, Indiana
Doctor of Humanities 
Dick Lugar Richard Green Lugar (speaker)
Mayor of Indianapolis, Indiana
Doctor of Laws 
No Photo Richard Emil Meier
Evansville Financier
Doctor of Laws 
Charles Rochelle Charles Edward Rochelle
Educator and ISU Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient
Doctor of Laws 

May 10, 1973 - Commencement

No Photo Helen Elliot
Educator and Civic Leader and Senior Counselor Indianapolis, Indiana Public Schools (retired)
Doctor of Humanities 
Robert Koch Robert Louis Koch
President, George Koch and Sons, Inc.
Doctor of Laws 
Robert Dunkerson Orr Robert Dunkerson Orr (speaker)
Lieutenant Governor, State of Indiana
Doctor of Law 
Walter Wahnsiedler Walter Joseph Wahnsiedler
Educator and Chairman, History and Psychology, Evansville, Indiana Schools (retired)
Doctor of Humanities 

May 9, 1974 - Commencement

William Moutoux William Jacob Moutoux
President, Moutoux, Inc.
Active Civic Leader and Treasurer of USI Foundation
Doctor of Laws 
Sylvia Porter Sylvia Fidd Porter (speaker)
Author and national syndicated columnist
Doctor of Letters 
Ralph Schwarz Ralph Grayson Schwarz
Vice Chairman, New Harmony, Indiana Memorial Commission
Doctor of Humanities 
No Photo Henry A. Woods
Pharmaceutical Pioneer and Distinguished Civil Leader
Doctor of Laws 

Contact Web Services


Send Email to