University of Southern Indiana

Standing Committees

2022-2023 Administrative Senate Standing Committees

Employee Relations and Benefits

Reviews salaries and benefits and makes annual recommendations for changes; works with Human Resources regarding employee concerns and the process to address those concerns; recommends promotion and progression steps; addresses the relationship between administrators and the University as an employer; reviews, studies, and recommends Senate action regarding performance, evaluation, professional leave, and policies and procedures which affect administrators’ ability to function in their positions. 

Chair: Betsy Mullins
Vice Chair: Laurel Wilson

Liaison: Director of HR

Professional Development

Addresses efforts to provide and encourage professional growth and development of administrators; assists in developing training for administrative staff specifically during fall and spring meeting activities; reviews, studies, and recommends Senate action regarding such matters as professional leave and continuing education.

Chair: Lee Keitel
Vice Chair: Aaron Pryor

Nominations and Elections

Composed of three continuing Senators appointed by the Executive Committee and chaired by the Past Chairperson, manages and oversees the annual elections process for Senators, and Senate officers. In addition, the committee shall monitor the number of administrators in each Senate district to ensure adequate and equitable representation. If it is necessary to reconfigure the composition of districts (in response to university restructuring or other changes in the number of administrators in departments) that duty also shall be carried out by the Elections Committee.

Chair: Jake Hansen

Employee Outreach

Develops productive partnerships with University groups such as Faculty Senate, Staff Council, and student groups; works with HR to welcome new staff, and increase awareness of Senate to the larger community.

Chair: Trista Lutgring
Vice Chair: Erin Altman

Employee Events

Involves USI’s administrators in university-wide events; sponsors events that recognize the service and achievements of administrators at USI.

Chair: Nathan Payne
Vice Chair: Jennifer Hertel


Ad Hoc Committees: The chair and/or the Executive Committee of the Senate shall appoint ad hoc committees as needed. The Bylaws Committee is going to look at changes and additions to the Administrative Senate Constitution and Bylaws.

Chair: Jake Hansen

Contact Administrative Senate


Send Email to