

Southern Indiana Review Mary C. Mohr Awards

SIR is pleased to announce that Elise Burke (fiction) of Selinsgrove, PA; Chelsea Catherine (nonfiction) of St. Petersburg, FL; Sean W. Murphy (nonfiction) of Ranchos de Taos, NM; and C.C. Reid (poetry) of Washington, DC, have been selected as winners of the 2019 Mary C. Mohr Awards. Their work will appear in the spring 2019 issue.



Elise Burke holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Hollins University. She is the recipient of two Kratz Center Writing Fellowships, the Reese Writing Award, the Dillard Arts Fellowship, and the James Purdy Award for Short Fiction, and her fiction has been recognized by storySouth's Million Writers Award. Her stories have earned nominations for the pushcart prize and the Best of the Net anthology, and her story collection Sorry for Crashing Your Party and Possibly Killing Your Horse was a finalist for the YesYes Books 2018 Pamet River Prize. Her work has appeared in Indiana Review, Hayden's Ferry Review, Joyland, and The RS500, among others. Burke is a Visiting Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Susquehanna University as well as Fiction Editor at Flock Literary

Journal.



Chelsea Catherine is a PEN Short Story Prize Nominee, winner of the Raymond Carver Fiction contest in 2016, a Sterling Watson fellow, and an Ann McKee grant recipient. Her novella *Blindsided* won the Clay Reynolds novella competition and was published in 2018. Her novel *Summer of the Cicadas* won the Quill Prose Award and will be published in 2020. She lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, where she enjoys running along the beach and hanging out with other people's dogs.



Sean W. Murphy is a 2018 National Endowment of the Arts Creative Writing Fellow as well as an authorized teacher of Zen meditation. His One Bird, One Stone: 108 Contemporary Zen Stories (Hampton Roads 2013), won the 2014 International Book Award in the Eastern Religions category. He is the award-winning author of three novels with Bantam Dell Books, receiving the Hemingway Award for a First Novel for *The Hope Valley Hubcap King*, the 2009 National Press Women's Communication Award for best novel for *The Time of New Weather*, and the 2017 William Faulkner Wisdom Award for novel-in-progress for his current project, *Wilson's Way*.



C.C. Reid is the recipient of two Artist Fellowships from the DC Commission on the Arts and Humanities, and winner of the Larry Neal Writers' Award for poetry. Her work has appeared in/is forthcoming from *Poet Lore*, *Mid-American Review*, *Spoon River Poetry Review*, and *Five Points*. Her MFA thesis, *Tending*, won the Stanley Plumly Thesis Award at The University of Maryland.

Fiction Finalists

Thomas M. Atkinson Molly Edmonds Keith Eisner Jordan Jacks Yaron Kaver Matthew Pitt April Sopkin

Nonfiction Finalists

Julialicia Case
Brandel France de Bravo
Elizabeth de Souza
Julia Franks
Terrance Manning, Jr.
Claire McQuerry
Mary Wang

Poetry Finalists

Allison Adair
Jenna Bazzell
Samantha Grenrock
Stephanie Horvath
Jenny Molberg
Megan O'Keefe
Jessica Smith
Donna Steiner
Jermaine Thompson
John Sibley Williams