### Faculty Senate 2017 retreat

Thursday, August 17, 2017

#### **Business and Engineering Center**

### Room BE 3033

### BE 3033 is right off the third floor elevator, straight and to the right

BE 3033 has a computer, projector and screen

### 9:00 a.m.

# Updated 8/15/17

## Agenda

9:00 a.m. - Welcome

- President Bennett
- Election of Senate Vice-Chair and Senate Secretary
- Approval of minutes from April 21, 2017
- Approve times and dates for fall semester meetings

10:00 a.m. – Interdisciplinary Faculty Learning Community: Dr. Oana Popescu Sandu

# 10:30 - Break

10:40 a.m. – National College Health Assessment (NCHA): Ms. Catherine Champagne

11:00 a.m.

- Additional payroll procedural changes: Ms. Nancy Lumley and Ms. Ingrid Lindy
- Promotion Committee need an At-Large member
- Student Affairs need an At-Large member
- Student Publications Committee need to nominate three faculty members; we can vote at the next meeting. Description is on the second page of this agenda
- Chairs and Deans Retreat, Board of Trustees, and President' Council recap

11:30 a.m. - Lunch will be available in BE 3041 next door to BE 3033.

• Provost Ronald Rochon

Adjournment

**Student Publications Committee.** This committee, appointed by the president, establishes criteria for the creation and operation of student publications, reviews and evaluates the financial operation, selects and/or removes editors of publications, adjudicates external and internal conflicts and complaints, and establishes and enforces standards of responsible journalistic behavior for staff of student publications. The committee consists of the department of Communications Chair or his designee (chair), two administrators, three faculty persons nominated by the Faculty Senate, and three students. Students who are employed by a USI publication are not eligible to serve. The dean of students, the student publications advisor, the director of the Scripps Howard Center for Media Studies, and a representative from Business Affairs serve as ex officio members.

Faculty Senate members who served in 2016-2017: Erin Giles, Chad Tew, Alice Shen