## FINAL REPORT

# FACULTY AWARDS for SERVICE, TEACHING and RESEARCH COMMITTEE

## **ACADEMIC YEAR 2015-2016**

## **Elected Members by College:**

Ken Walsh, Chair, SEE

Priya Hewavitharanage, SEE

Katie Ehlman, NHP

Kimberly Parsons, NHP

Andrew Buck, LA

Dan Bauer, LA

Virginia Weiler, COB

Gongjun Yan, COB

## Ex officio Members by Position:

Ronald Rochon, Provost

Rebecca Deeg, Office of Sponsored Projects and Research Administration

#### **ACTIVITIES OF FASTRC DURING THE 2015-16 ACADEMIC YEAR**

1. SENATE CHARGE: Administer the awards under our purview.

Distinguished Professor Award: Awarded to Kathy Rogers (nominated by Jeff Thomas).

**Sydney L. & Sadelle Berger Faculty Community Service Award:** Awarded to Dr. Rob Millard-Mendez (nominated by Shannon Pritchard). Two nominations were received and two met the guidelines for phase 2 consideration for the award.

**USI Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching by New Faculty:** Awarded to Dr. Trent Engbers. 9 nominations were received and reviewed. The committee's selection was presented to Dr. Rochon, Provost. The recommendation was approved.

**USI Foundation Award for Outstanding Teaching by Adjunct Faculty:** Awarded to Mr. Erich Shelton. 8 nominations were received and reviewed. The committee's selection was presented to Dr. Rochon, Provost. The recommendation was approved.

**USI Summer Research Fellowship for New Faculty:** Awarded eleven. Eleven applications were received, reviewed, ranked, and submitted to Dr. Rochon, who awarded the fellowships as per our recommendations: Angela Wooton, Kevin Goodman, Kay Howard, Kimberly Delaney Roxanne Beckham, Thomas Weber, Tillman Russell, Elissa Mitchell, Yuxia Qian, Katherine Daniels, and Yajuan Xiang.

**2014 OSPRA Summer Research Grant for Pilot Research Projects:** Three applications were received and discussed. The applications met the criteria, and sufficient funds were available; therefore, the award was granted to Austin Anderson, Hui Shi and Kevin Valadares.

**Academic Advising Awards:** Awarded three. Three nominations were received, reviewed, and ranked. Our selections were forwarded to Academic Affairs as follows: Mary Ann Shifflet, Tori Shoulders, and Tom McDonald.

**Faculty Research and Creative Work Grants:** Seven applications were received and thoroughly reviewed; all seven were funded or partially funded. The total amount requested by successful applicants was \$33,823.00, and the amount awarded was \$32,419.50. The committee's recommendations were presented to and approved by Dr. Rochon. (See Exhibit A for a list of FRCWG awards.)

- 2. As required via the Faculty Handbook, a copy of FASTRC meeting minutes is attached. (See EXHIBIT B.)
- 3. 6 extension requests were granted to FRCWA/FRCWG recipients. One extension request was denied.
- 4. The committee recommended minor modifications to some of the awards as outlined in the 5<sup>th</sup> meeting minutes.
- 5. The chair of the committee for 2016-17 will be Daniel Bauer.

### **EXHIBIT A**

## FACULTY RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK GRANTS APPLICANTS AND AMOUNT AWARDED

Name/Dept.	Title	Request	Award
Paul Doss/Geology and Physics	Ecosystem Sustainability and Detecting Hydrological Change due to Restoration, Resource Extraction, and Climate Change in Manistee National Forest of Michigan	\$5708	\$5428
Edmir Wade/Chemistry	Herbal Remedies in Southern Indiana	\$4999	\$4999
Kristen Wilkins/Art,	Curating the Works of Sonny Brown	\$5000	\$5077
Denise Lynn/History	Where is Juliet Stuart Poyntz?: Murder, Betrayal, and Narratives of Soviet Degeneracy in Anti-Stalinism and Anti-Communism	\$2974	\$2974
Ann Statham/ Sociology	Completing Chrysler Worker Study	\$4957	\$4957
Julie McCullough, Nutrition and Food Services	PPINC Study –Pantry Program Improving Nutrition Choices	\$5000	\$5000
Guoyuan Huang, Kinesiology and Sport	Tai Chi as Mind-Body Approach for Health, Physical Fitness, and Rehabilitation	\$5185	\$3985
		\$33,823.00	\$32,420.00

#### **EXHIBIT B**

#### **MINUTES OF ALL MEETINGS**

#### Minutes from 1st FASTRC Meeting, held electronically

Present: Katie Ehlman, Priya Hewavitharanage, Ken Walsh, Daniel Bauer, Andy Buck, Virginia Weiler, Gongjun Yan, Rebecca Deeg, Kimberly Parsons

The committee had received 2 nominations for the Berger community service award and 1 nomination for the Distinguished Professor award. All nominations were approved to move to the next stage of the process.

The committee also approved 5 extension requests to FRCWA/G and denied 1 extension request.

## Minutes from 2nd FASTRC Meeting 2015-16, Nov 19th at 9:00 am in UC2203

Present: Katie Ehlman, Priya Hewavitharanage, Ken Walsh, Daniel Bauer, Andy Buck, Virginia Weiler, Gongjun Yan, Rebecca Deeg. Apologies Kimberly Parsons

Meeting was called to order at 9:04 am.

- 1. Introductions
- 2. Pilot Research Awards (discussed and ranked the electronically reviewed proposals, 3 in total, extra information was requested from 2 applicants)
- 3. Junior Faculty Research Awards (discussed the electronically reviewed proposals, 11 in total, extra information was requested from 1 applicant)
- 4. Agenda for next meeting

Meeting adjourned at 9:50 am

## Minutes from 3rd FASTRC Meeting 2015-16, Dec 5<sup>th</sup> at 10:30 am in UC2203

Present: Katie Ehlman, Priya Hewavitharanage, Ken Walsh, Daniel Bauer, Virginia Weiler, Gongjun Yan, Kimberly Parsons, Andy Buck and Rebecca Deeg.

Meeting was called to order at 9:03 am.

Meeting was adjourned at about 10:00 am

- 1. Discussion of teaching award results (see attached sheet)
- 2. Pilot award extra information discussed and all were approved
- 3. Junior Faculty extra information was discussed and was approved
- 4. Community member for selection of Berger community service award, Rhonda Zuber of SWRICA was recommended by Katie Ehlman
- 5. Next year's Chair? By popular vote...Daniel Bauer

#### Minutes from 4th FASTRC Meeting held electronically in March 2016

Present: Katie Ehlman, Priya Hewavitharanage, Ken Walsh, Daniel Bauer, Andy Buck, Gongjun Yan, Kimberly Parsons, Virginia Weiler, and Rebecca Deeg.

Meeting was performed electronically.

Three nominations were submitted for the Outstanding Academic Advising Award and these were provisionally ranked according to the rubric provided. The 3 award winners were Mary Ann Shifflet, Tori Shoulders, and Tom McDonald.

The complete nomination packets for the Distinguished Professor Award were reviewed and Kathy Rogers was chosen to be this year's recipient.

The complete nomination packets for the Berger Community service award were reviewed and Rob Millard-Mendez was chosen to be the recipient of the award. Rhonda Zuber of SWRICA served as the community representative.

.....

#### Minutes from 5th FASTRC Meeting 2015-16 Thursday March 3rd at 8:15 am in UC 2203

Present: Priya Hewavitharanage, Ken Walsh, Daniel Bauer, Andy Buck, Gongjun Yan, Kimberly Parsons, Virginia Weiler and Rebecca Deeg. Apologies Katie Ehlman

Meeting was called to order at 8:17 am.

- 1. FRCWG: Seven applications were received and thoroughly reviewed; all seven were funded or partially funded. The total amount requested by successful applicants was \$33,823.00, and the amount awarded was \$32,419.50. The committee's recommendations were presented to and approved by Dr. Rochon. Those funded are listed in EXHIBIT A.
- 2. After a charge from the Provost, some modifications to the award and grant guidelines were discussed, and after discussion and a subsequent vote, the following proposed changes were forwarded to the Provost's office for approval.

#### **FRCWG**

Preference will be given to faculty members who have NOT received a FRCWG in the past 3 years.

Pilot

Preference will be given to tenured faculty members.

Junior

No changes as it is already restricted to those faculty members in their first 3 years of tenure track appointment.

Meeting was adjourned at 9:15 am.