Nominations and Election Committee Administrative Senate June 2015

Jayne Tang, Chair

Members Included: Deb Butler, Cindy Miller, Beth Thompson

- Changes enacted this year:
 - a. Redistricting
 - 1. The Nominations and Election committee met to review reorganizing districts to reflect the addition of our VPEM and reorganization of personnel.
 - 2. A proposal for redistribution was adopted by Administrative Senate on April 1, 2015.
 - 3. The Procedure Manual on our Administrative website reflects the new breakdown and the adoption date.
 - b. Nominations sent to adminsenate@usi.edu instead of using a nomination form in Org Sync.
 - c. Nominations went out a little later. An email announcing open nominations went out on April 15 and included the Administrative Senate appendix that listed the newly adopted districts. The email explained the new process of nominations (email) and a reminder that administrators might be in a new district. The email also listed that nominations would close at 4:30pm on April 30th and listed a reminder of the dates the ballot would be available.
 - d. Confirmed nominees listed on website prior to ballot
 - 1. Nominees were notified via email/phone to confirm their interest in having their names placed on the ballot.
 - 2. Once interest was confirmed, their name was also listed on the elections portion of our website. The May 2014 minutes reflect that Administrative Senate voted for transparency and this aided in that regard.
 - 3.A reminder nominations email went out on Monday, April 27th. The reminder provided a link to our website where accepted nominations could be seen and reminded administrators that nominations would remain open until April 30th, 2015.
- When nominations were closed, nominees who accepted were asked to submit a brief biography to include with the ballot. A sample biography written in 3rd person was sent to each nominee who accepted.
- Jeanne McAllister, of OPRA, generated the ballot with information provided.
- No amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws were included on the ballot this year. The
 election opened on the second Wednesday in May, which was May 13th this year, and all
 administrators eligible to vote were notified via email.
- The deadline for voting was 5pm on the following Tuesday, which was May 19, 2015.
- On May 21st, Jayne Tang and Deb Butler met to review the results. Cindy Miller was on vacation until the end of May. Beth Thompson was not available in the morning, but met with Jayne via

phone during the lunch hour. There was a tie in District 1 and the Elections Committee voted to break the tie.

- The Executive Committee certified the results via email in the afternoon of May 21st.
- Non-contested individuals were sent a congratulatory email. Individuals in contested categories
 were contacted by phone to confirm their continued interest in serving on administrative
 senate.
- Those not elected were also notified by telephone and encouraged to run again, as well as serve on a Standing committee during the 2015-2016 year.
- On May 22nd, an email was sent from Administrative Senate to all administrators announcing the 2015 election results.

Vice Chair – Larry Back
At-Large Senator – Amy Smith
District 1 Senator – Michelle Woodburn
District 2 Senator – Donald McGrath
District 3 Senator – Sarah Harlan
District 4 Senator – Joseph Binkley