Liberal Arts Council Meeting April 3, 2012

Present:M. Aakhus, T. Bordelon, M. Dixon, J. Evey, R. Gennaro, C. Harison (for T. Hunt), T. Schroer (for R. Priest), I. Phillips, W. Rinks, S. Rode, S. Spencer, E. Wasserman, K. Waters, and C. York.

I. Minutes

The minutes of March 13 and 20 were approved as emended.

II. Budget Requests for Faculty Lines

M. Aakhus encouraged chairs to submit requests for faculty lines according to the rationales they develop. Chairs may submit requests for tenure-track lines, contract positions, or upgrades of contract positions to tenure-track lines. Requests should be posted to the LAC Blackboard site, and chairs will present their first priorities at the spring retreat on April 17. All requests for non-faculty items should also be posted to the Blackboard site. M. Dixon will create folders for first-priority faculty requests, second-priority faculty requests, and non-faculty requests.

M. Aakhus also advised chairs who will be conducting searches in fall 2012 to replace vacancies to constitute search committees, draft ads, and submit the positions to People Admin as soon as possible.

III. Liberal Arts Research Awards (LARA) Proposal – M. Dixon

M. Dixon presented a proposal to change the process by which LARAs are adjudicated. Currently Liberal Arts chairs review and rank by secret ballot all applications with the five highest ranked applications receiving the award. M. Dixon's proposal calls for the creation of a LARA committee, comprised of four members and chaired by a representative of the Dean's office. This committee will select the recipients of these awards. J. Evey requested that the language in the proposal concerning committee members' eligibility for awards be emended. The proposal also calls for exploring the feasibility of changing the awards from five, one-semester course releases to five yearlong course releases. S. Spencer urged that we not reduce the total number of awards from ten to five, but that the Dean's office attempt to award ten year-long awards. After lengthy discussion, the creation of a LARA Committee as outlined in M. Dixon's proposal was approved unanimously. M. Aakhus will work with M. Dixon and T. Bordelon to put together a proposal as to how additional LARAs might be funded and he will present this to the Provost. S. Spencer also requested that chairs' letters supporting an application be expanded beyond simply stating how the release time will be covered. I. Philips asked that applicants submit their applications to their chairs two weeks prior to the deadline for submission so that they may be reviewed thoroughly. M. Dixon also asked chairs to remind their faculty who receive both LARAs and CLAFDAs that they are obligated to submit a final report and will be ineligible to receive additional awards if it has not been submitted.

IV. Open Items from Chairs

Several chairs asked to discuss the Honors Day ceremony. M. Aakhus suggested that we have this discussion next week when B. Christie will be present.

J. Evey asked when the recipients of LARAs for spring 2013 will be notified. M. Dixon

announced that this would occur today.

V. Announcements

- J. Evey announced that Amie McKibban has received the 2012 H. Lee Cooper Core Curriculum Teaching Award.
- S. Spencer congratulated Susanna Hoeness-Krupsaw on receiving the Bill and Helen Sands Liberal Arts Professor of the Year Award.
- K. Waters reminded chairs that the 42nd Annual Juried Student Art show is open until April 29, 2012.

VI. Adjournment

The Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 a.m.