

Approved Minutes June 30, 2009

Present: Chris Jines, Charlene Kaufman, Michelle Herrmann Mary Ann Barnard, Terry Martin, Becky Ball, Sheree Seib, Mary Killian, Cynthia York, Angie Goebel, Catherine Vaughan, Jeri Broshears, Kim Shelton, Jacki Spainhour, Julie Bordelon, Samoa Hempfling, Lori Van Hook, Shannon Hoehn, Brian Brown, Donna Dippel, Debbie Whiteside, Terri Alvey, Melissa Miller, Kathi Goen, and Donna Evinger.

CALL TO ORDER

Chris Jines called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m.

Approval of May 26, 2009 minutes with corrections, motion by Becky Ball, seconded by Cynthia York. Motion Passed.

Economic Benefits Committee

No report

Employee Relations

No report

Nominating Committee

Angie reported she needs members' pictures for fall luncheon poster.

Web Committee

See old business

Old Business

Sheree will post approved revised by-laws on web page.

New Business

The year-end report with changes was approval by Charlene Kaufman and seconded by Terry Martin.

Chris announced two of the alternates resigned; Debbie Banks and Julie D'Mellow.

Vote was taken to award individual trophies for Recognition Award winner instead of just the traveling trophy. Unanimously decided to keep only the traveling trophy.

New appointees named for university committees:

Cynthia York—09-11 Substance Abuse

Charlene Kaufman— 09-12 EEO

Shannon Hoehn— 09-11 Safety & Risk

Donna Dippel—09-10 Traffic Appeals



Second and third shift employees are not able to attend the summer picnic and wanted to know if anything could be done. Chris called Ann Fisher in Sodexho and she will set aside food for all the second and third shift employees if we call in advance. They can eat in the Loft whenever they come in. Each year someone will need to call Sodexho with a number for those employees.

Discussion/Announcements

The Staff Council Retreat is mandatory. We will meet July 28th in ED 3104-3105 from 9:00AM – 4:00PM. Chris sent email to supervisors of new members to let them know dates and times of retreat meeting.

Donna Evinger awarded certificates signed by Dr. Hoops to Becky Ball, Brian Brown, Samoa Hempfling, Charlene Kaufman, Mary Killian, Dave O'Grady, Terry Martin, Sheree Seib, Cynthia York, and Pam Moore.

New members were thanked and dismissed. Vote was taken for Support Staff Recognition award.

Chris will call all nominees to ask them to attend the fall employee meeting. Donna Evinger, HR Director, will call Cindy Brinker and let her know of our decision to have all the Recognition nominees be recognized at the luncheon.

Meeting adjourned with motion by Brian Brown and seconded by Becky Ball.

Respectfully submitted,

Charlene Kaufman, Secretary