Nominations and Election Committee Administrative Senate June 2013 Linda Trible, Chair Larry Back, Mandi Fulton, Andrea Gentry

The Nominations and Election Committee met to review the distribution of administrators in the four districts. While the districts are not evenly divided, the committee felt it would be confusing to change administrators from one district to another since changes were made last year. The nomination form was developed using Org Sync and made available to administrators on April 1, 2013, at 8:00 am. Nominations remained open until April 19. Nominees were notified via email to confirm their interest in having their names placed on the ballot. Nominations included:

- Vice-Chair (2 nominees)
- At-Large Senator (5 nominees; 2 declined)
- District 1 Senator (6 nominees; 1 declined)
- District 2 Senator (4 nominees; 1 declined)
- District 3 Senator (4 nominees; 2 declined)
- District 4 Senator (6 nominees; 5 declined)

Each interested nominee was asked to submit a brief biography to include with the ballot. Since Andrea Gentry was nominated for the position of Vice Chair, she was disqualified as a member of the committee. The actual ballot was developed by Jeanne McAllister from OPRA using the information provided. Two amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws were included on the ballot for administrator approval. The election opened on May 8, with all administrators notified via email. There were some initial problems which resulted in having to stop the election for OPRA to make corrections. The election resumed shortly thereafter and continued without incident.

At the close of the election, the committee met to review the results. Once again this year, there was a tie in one of the districts. As per the revised Bylaws, Article IV, Organization, Section 4, Nominations and Elections, k., the Nominations and Elections Committee voted to break the tie. Results were forwarded to the Executive Committee for certification. All elected individuals were notified via telephone; those not elected were notified via email and encouraged to run again.

The Nominations and Elections Committee of the Administrative Senate is pleased to report the results of the 2013 election:

Vice Chair – Susanne Stanley At-Large Senator – David Alexander District 1 Senator – Carey Franks District 2 Senator – Michael Mohr District 3 Senator – Ingrid Lindy District 4 Senator – John Campbell

Revision to the Administrative Senate Bylaws:

Article IV, Section 4, k. – approved Article IV, Section 4, j. – approved

Thank you to all administrators who ran for a position on the Senate this year and to those who nominated such a qualified pool of applicants. We also appreciate the assistance of OPRA in setting up the election and tabulating the results. The actual results of the ballot are on file with the Secretary of the Administrative Senate.